when the bee stings

In my absence I’ve acquired a few books on my favorite things. My favorite restaurant in Santa Fe is a little tapas place, La Boca, and the chef has come out with a new cookbook, Espana: Exploring the Flavors of Spain. Two of my favorite (I’m going to overuse this word a bunch) tapas that James Campbell Caruso serves are Ensalada Mediterranean and Pincho de Huevo.  The salad is light and refreshing but so sturdy that I return to it time and again.  The combination of the apricots and the feta with the figs and olives is magnificent. The Pincho de Huevo is heaven on a plate. Egg Bruschetta with Mushrooms and Truffle Oil, this dish makes everyone at the table smile a devilish grin. Caruso includes the recipes for both and although I look forward to taking a crack at these dishes, there is no comparison to wining and dining in the restaurant itself.

To combat my love of all this delicious food, I go running every other day. Running puts my life in perspective, anything that’s good or bad is put in it’s place and I can see more clearly the divine timing and peace that runs through all our lives. I started reading, Running with the Mind of Meditation by Sakyong Mipham. He is the son of the great Chogyam Trungpa but I find his words and teachings a bit softer than his father’s. In all Mipham’s teachings he is encouraging a healthy approach to body, speech and mind. In his introduction he explains,

To me, the relationships between mediation and running is natural, for one is a training of the mind and one is a training of the body. Meditation is an essential and integral part of my life, and combining the principles of meditation with running has been a delightful experience. Meditate with delight and run with joy.

I’m a late bloomer to a lot of things and I find myself yet again behind the curve. A new favorite character of mine is Lisbeth Salander and The Girl Who series. I just finished The Girl Who Played with Fire and sure enough Stieg Larsson left me with a cliff hanger so I had to start The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest right off. Yes they’re violent, yes they’re not entirely appropriate for Sunday dinner conversation with the family but how can you not be taken in by Lisbeth Salander?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

