beach bum

My childhood vacations to Cape Cod started with a book in the car. I would read the entire four hours looking up occasionally when we passed the giant bug in Providence, the Bourne Bridge and the changing of the landscape. I would proceed to read my way through the whole week, all set to the background of the ocean, pine trees, low tide, and seafood. I’m taking a similar vacation next week, reading my way through a week spent by Caribbean waters. And, as I used to, I deliberated over what to take with me. Not being a fan of the kindle or any type of e-reader, I’m packing the real things in my suitcase. The list was long, I get overly ambitious at times, and decided to narrow it down to some sort of realistic situation. And along with the March issue of Vanity Fair, here’s what I’m taking:

Because of Dominque Browning’s article in the Sunday Times about airplane reading.

Because I have to have one foodie book with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Because who hasn’t dreamed of reading Austen again for the first time?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to beach bum

  1. Don’t forget to look up and enjoy the Caribbean blue waters 🙂 so happy for you

Leave a Reply

