danish oats

This morning I woke up to snow covered trees and adobe homes. These first days of snow stir my desire to bake cookies, pies, and tasty treats in a warm kitchen all day. The past two Mondays have been rainy/snowy and I delighted in watching the snow fall while I was up to my elbows in pastry crusts and cookie dough. If you’re feeling the pressure or the desire to bake holiday treats this year, I recommend two books. For those of you living in the high altitude sketchy-baking sections of the country, Pie in the Sky (and for all you dedicated vegans) is your best bet. It has sea-level recommendations as well but it’s very helpful for those of us lucky enough to live high in the sky.  I made the Danish Oat cookies with rolled oats and toasted wheat germ, two of my favorite things!  The author also informs you that these oaty treats bring a blessing to your home when you bake them.

My mother has been a fan for as long as I can remember, and it took me many years to come around to her, but Martha Stewart truly has the best recipes one can hope for. Her cookies are delicious and beautiful, and if you follow her easy instructions, you might find yourself saying, “it’s a good thing.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

