rebels of the sacred heart

Lately I’ve been craving a good Irish pub, a place with dark wooden booths, dark beers, dim lighting, hot meals that are more soothing to the soul than the gut and maybe some flogging molly playing in the background. These little pubs always seem to cure what ails me. As summer spins its final pirouette and the temps start to drop I find myself wanting to tuck into a booth for an afternoon pint. So when grillhouse gastropub at home came into the store yesterday I knew I would find a recipe I loved. Ross Dobson has a wide selection of feel-good food including scallops with bacon, lamb shanks with red wine, rum and maple mashed sweet potato and apple and cheddar pie. I found beet and apple pudding and was ecstatic! Two of my favorite things combined with some sugary crumb goodness. He serves it as a side with pork hocks but I’m going to pair my pudding with a salad this week.

Here is the ingredient list for beet and apple pudding:

1 cup grated beets
3 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 cup grated green apple
½ cup seedless raisins
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon soft brown sugar
1 cup stale breadcrumbs
1 egg, lightly beaten
¾ cup chicken stock

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

