it’s a mystery

I allowed myself to be immersed in the world of Jane Eyre today. Even with all its hardships and insufferable impediments it was a lovely world to be in. A few years back I watched Shakespeare in Love, lets just say, a lot. I knew, still know, the movie by heart and would often recite lines aloud in my mother’s kitchen. She would look at me as if to say, “who’s child is this?” And I would say to her, “don’t you wish we still talked that way?” I would get the look again. The language, the emotion, the pure genius of these writers makes me want to live in their world. On days that I can I dive in head first leaving the reality of my world behind and let Charlotte Bronte, Jane Austen, or Shakespeare guide the way. What I deeply love about Jane Eyre is that she never allows herself to be guided away from what she knows is her own deeply felt truth, and gives counsel in that regard.

“Sir, I answered, “a wanderer’s repose or a sinner’s reformation should never depend on a fellow-creature. Men and women die; philosophers falter in wisdom, and Christians in goodness: if any one you know has suffered and erred, let him look higher than his equals for strength to amend, and solace to heal.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it’s a mystery

  1. Jess says:

    Oh my dear Jane, you were truly born in the wrong era, but I’m gald you’re in this one, you make it SO much more lovely…

Leave a Reply

