ask and you shall

I’ve been working a lot lately and by work I mean hourly wages at service jobs. So the things that were a priority became second and then third and as each week passed suddenly fourth or fifth or not at all. I became tired, very tired. An inner struggle started to suck up all my energy as I contemplated the money vs. quality of life debate. My quality of life increases exponentially when I am running, reading, doing yoga, meditating, overall making time for myself. On one of my trips to the library, I decided to pick up Ask and It Is Given. Such an appealing title in the midst of my inner struggle, I couldn’t refuse it. Jerry and Esther Hicks have been teaching the law of attraction for many years. The binding is actually broken on this particular copy so I’m suspecting many New Mexicans have been asking. My grandmother was good at suffering, and I find so am I. I’m good in a crisis, calm among crazy, and prone to doing something difficult over and over again. In short I have a hard time asking for good things and so according to Jerry and Esther I attract more difficult things. My birthday is this week and in accordance with starting a new year I wanted to start a new way of thinking. Here’s what the Hicks’ have to say about desire,

There is no desire that anyone holds for any other reason than that they believe they will feel better in the achievement of it. Whether it is a material object, a physical state of being, a relationship, a condition, or a circumstance – at the heart of every desire is the desire to feel good. And so, the standard of success in life is not the things or the money – the standard of success is absolutely the amount of joy you feel.

Motivated by my tiredness, and desire to have more joy in my life I have cut back on the cash flow and returned to things that I love, that are essentially free.  On this first spring day here’s to a new year of asking for joy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ask and you shall

  1. Teresa says:

    Got behind and as I sit at the BDL Airport waiting for a delayed flight to the remote city of Dubuque Iowa I am getting a chance to catch up. I have lived most of my life without listening to the voice. This is a favorite of mine . 🙂

Leave a Reply

