sunshiney way

Last week while I was running a couple scruffy gentlemen crossed the street onto the sidewalk where I was and started to hoot and yell, “run Forrest run.” I didn’t look at them or acknowledge their presence. My father’s voice was in my head, repeating to me what he told me every time we went to New York City when I was a child, “don’t talk to anybody, don’t take anything from anyone, and don’t wander off.” I have a strong defense, I put my armor on, the guard up and I’m ready for perceived battle. I don’t really like this about myself. I’ve been attempting lately to be a softer, gentler, more Caroline Ingalls-esque woman. I checked out this beautiful book called, Rainbows Appear Tibetan Poems of Shabkar. Shabkar Tsogdruk Rangdrol was a Tibetan Buddhist Yogi. These poems are taken from his autobiography and the calligraphy is done by Jigme Doushe.

In the vastness of the sky;
without center or edges,
The sun shines, illuminating
all things without choosing.
This is the way you should help beings.

I often wonder why certain people come into my life or why a particular situation went down as it did. But lately I’ve been feeling relieved at the possibility that it is not my choosing.  Whatever is presented before me is there to teach me and/or to help someone.  My favorite poem in the book simply says,

Kindness and openness of mind
Will accomplish all goals:
Yours and those of others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sunshiney way

  1. Jessica says:

    I copied that poem-why are some simple things so amazing?

  2. Teresa says:

    Laura and Charles = ❤

Leave a Reply

