some sense

Please, then,’ said Alice, ‘how am I to get in?’

‘There might be some sense in your knocking,’ the Footman went on without attending to her, ‘if we had the door between us. For instance if you were inside, you might knock, and I could let you out, you know.’

. .
‘How am I to get in?’ asked Alice again, in a louder tone.
‘Are you to get in at all?’ said the Footman. ‘That’s the first question you know.’
It was no doubt: only Alice did not like to be told so.
‘But what am I to do?’ said Alice.
‘Anything you like,’ said the Footman, and began whistling.

How delightful to go on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland over and over again. Watching as my interpretation changes with each passing year.  And I get to be Alice all over again, ready to shrink and grow and be seated once more at the Mad-Tea Party.  And then she never pauses to consider the footman’s questions, “Are you to get in at all?”

This past summer I went on a hike with a friend and walked into the same exact tree twice, once going up the trail and then coming back down. I kept a piece of wood from that hike as a reminder. “There might be some sense in your knocking.” I have a tendency to keep knocking when there is no one there to answer. And I’ve started asking myself, am I to get in at all? And like Alice I don’t like to be told, no doubt.  In an attempt to shift my thinking I’m taking a moment of pause.  So, here’s to a winter Wednesday peppered with whatever you like!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to some sense

  1. Jessica says:

    Cheers to winter Wednesdays! I have a habit of knocking on the completely wrong doors, so we all have our patterns I guess!

Leave a Reply

