Butchery

I just started reading Cleaving by Julie Powell, the follow-up to Julie & Julia. And if you haven’t read it or seen the movie I highly recommend both. But it brought up a few thoughts I’ve been contemplating about men. In this newest book Julie talks about being enticed by the butcher, tree-trunk neck type of man. Mostly because of his butchering skills. I found myself nodding my head and agreeing with her. A man who’s manly and knows his way around a pig can be extremely attractive, and I’ve been a vegetarian for over ten years. But I don’t know if it’s just about butchery. Someone who’s skilled or passionate about whatever, cows, cheese, poetry, painting, bugs, isn’t that interesting? More interesting than say someone who isn’t? Does it just come down to passion? My personal history has included passionate men, not all passionate about me per se, but surely enthusiastic about either food, the arts, or sports. I know a woman who dated a man who was a crazy collector of tractors, antique apple peelers, etc.  My track record with these passionate men hasn’t been great.  But for me, the ability to make a mundane moment transcendental because of a shared interest or passion puts the sacred in the ordinary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Butchery

  1. Teresa Weybrew says:

    ……………………love it.
    Its all about the Passion. Whatever that is for you..the person. At the end of the day , there is nothing else

Leave a Reply

